Thankful Thursday: Sometimes Thankful is Hard

I’m going to start be recognizing that this post it actually being posted on Friday. The wee small hours of Friday morning, to be sure, but not Thursday.

Life gets in the way – it happens to the best of us. There are times when nothing is working out and you’re really down to your last nerve. I’m in such a place. I am struggling with what to share because what’s going on is not happening directly to me. So, this isn’t my story; airgo I have no right to share.

What I will share is this. Life can be hard. Life comes with pain. Even for a person who practices gratitude, looks on the bright side and focuses on the win-win in all situations; there are days when it takes a long time to climb back up and keep going. To use a boxing analogy This past week has been one where I’ve waited till the 8 count to get back up.

What I can share is how this has affected me. At the risk of sounding cliché, I am finding out who my ‘real’ friends are. My nearest and dearest know what’s going on and I won’t lie, I’ve been bolstered by texts, calls and offers of help. I’ve been deeply wounded by the lack of calls. Deeply. You’d think my focus on gratitude would push me to be so thankful for the support I have received the feelings of abandonment would be nill. That is simply not true. It is very painful when people don’t call to ask how you are, especially when they know you’re in a crisis. Especially when you feel you’ve been in their corner in similar situations.

Painful.

FDR is famously quoted as saying “When you get to the end of your rope, tie a knot in it and hang on.” If you connect with me on Facebook you know I’m a fan of quotes and find endless fascination with the Roosevelt Family. So, I’ve tied my knot and I’m praying it doesn’t unravel.

In the meantime, I’m working to shift my energy and return to full gratitude and joy in all the blessings I have (larger and smaller). I would also say – if you have a friend in crisis call them. Text them. Send an email. Heck, send a card. It will mean the world to them and – it could mean the difference in them getting back up off the mat.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

