Wild Woman of Wednesday: New Year’s Makes Everyone Philosopher

My friend, Jay, posted that on fb a short time ago. As usual he is spot on. The end of one year, the start of the next makes everyone wax poetic. Truth be told it makes me a bit nostalgic, too. I’m not entirely sure why – it just always has.

I was scrolling through my blog feed this morning when I first laid eyes on a blessing jar. A pretty glass jar with the word ‘blessings’ etched on the front, tied with a bow. The idea being that each day you write a blessing on a slip of paper and add it to the jar. I saw this pop up a few more times as the day progressed with folks talking about this providing a stash of happy reminders to see you through dark days. Other folks were talking about reading their blessings on key dates, like Thanksgiving.  By 3pm I decided I really wanted one, too.

My 2015 Blessing Jar

My 2015 Blessing Jar

Not as fancy as what I saw posted. Just a quart sized mason jar with a hand-lettered tag and some pretty silver and blue ribbons. For now it’s nestled with the pine and candles on the window. My first project of the new year is to get my office space set up and I’ll move the jar to a place of prominence in that space.

2014 was a good year. I don’t pretend it was without challenges, but, the blessings and the happiness outweighed anything I might gripe about. So, I’m going to be truly wild and close the books on those notions. I’m embracing the good (great, really) and looking forward to even more in the new year.

As far as resolutions goals… I’ve got a few. I did promise I’d share so here they are in no particular order:

  • laugh more, a lot more
  • read more, lot more, especially the magazines I set aside each month to enjoy
  • visit with friends – phone, text, in person – I am richly blessed with a core group of wonderful friends and I plan to carve out time to enjoy their friendship (lookout ladies, here I come)
  • eat more whole foods (i.e. not processed) and sit down to supper as a family at least four nights a week (currently we manage two to three nights each week)
  • bring my water consumption even with my diet coke intake
  • expand my workshop schedule
  • launch my website
  • log 800 miles (so that’s about 3 pairs of kicks)
  • bench press my body weight & squat 1.5 times by body weight (pre-pregnancy those lifts were easy peasy)

I’ve got a plan in place to make each of these goals.

What goals have you set for the New Year?

This entry was posted in Actions, Holiday, intention, running, Wickedly Wild Women of Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

