Thankful Thursday: Taking A Time Out

I took a time out from blogging in the wake of a very intense, on site Life Coach Training weekend to gather my thoughts and reset my goals.

Some messy, even thorny, emotions surfaced during the weekend. I needed some time to process them. In the process of processing them I realized I needed time to sit with them and feel them. That’s the trick about thorny feelings all of those tiny, bloody pin-pricks hurt and need to be tended: one by one. I needed to travel inward and look at the many tiny places I need to heal.

I am not done healing.

In the past this would have been crushing to me. I’m the type of gal who likes to get it done, do it quickly, and move on with the thorny feelings firmly in my rearview mirror. No such luck this time.

Healing, I’m coming to learn, is a lifelong process. It’s about taking a timeout when you need one. It’s celebrating the little victories. It’s hugging the people you love extra tight and whispering “I love you” every chance you get. It’s about asking for help when you need it and helping another out when you can.

It’s never taking a person, place or situation for granted.

Yes, I do realize this is not an earth shattering revelation. I mean if you spend three minutes on Facebook you’re likely to see eight to ten inspirational quotes, complete with pretty pictures, telling you this. It’s very likely those quotes maybe far more elegant than my words here – but – that’s not what matters.

What matters is what you do after you read the inspirational words. Will you sit and reflect? Take action? What will you be inspired to actually do?

During my time out I started the process of healing some very specific wounds. I also laid the ground work for some very exciting seminars and support groups. These plans are still ‘in the works’ and I am very excited to share them with you in the days to come.

How do you take a timeout?

This entry was posted in Actions, Personal Growth, Thankful Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

