Tuesdays on the Run: The Importance of Running the Run

I am stepping way outside my comfort zone today and joining a blog link up being hosted by Patty from My No Guilt Life and April from Run the Great Wide Somewhere. If you are a runner of any variety I wholeheartedly suggest you check them – and the other bloggers who’ve linked up – out.

I am a life coach whose practice centers on heath, wellness and lasting physical transformation. Running was the key to my own physical transformation 4 years ago and these days running is a key component in regaining my health and fitness postpartum. The requirement for linking up was that today’s post be about running in some way, shape or form – sort of blogger’s choice.

Last week I reminisced about my High School Spanish Teacher and shared my half marathon wish list. Since publishing that post I have walked the walk and signed up for the Wicked Half Marathon. I even booked a room at my favorite hotel in town for the weekend. I have a 14 week training plan, fresh kicks and I inflated the tires in the running stroller so the Wee Khaleesi’s ride is smooth and comfy.

I’m feeling that nervous excitement and I have to admit, it’s been a long time since I’ve had butterflies on this scale. My usual race  is the 5k. That’s where I started running with the couch to 5k plan and by the time I had my 3rd race under my belt I was smitten and craving more. I can clearly remember being in Hudson News at Newark Liberty Airport when I saw the issue of Runner’s World labeled “Half Marathon Special”. I snatched that issue off the stand and devoured it before the wheels went up (to be fair, we were delayed, but still I devoured that issue) and thus my desire to a half marathon was ignited.

So, I registered and trained for the *Tinkerbell Half Marathon. Six weeks into training I  suffered a knee injury that required rehab and forced me to defer my race registration. I registered, again, for Tinkerbell and had to withdraw when I became pregnant. By the time race day dawned I was on full-time bed rest and though sad to miss my race the second year in a row – I was excited to be creating a teeny tiny person.

I’m certainly hoping the third time’s the charm when it comes to actually getting to the start line. I’m also hoping Grandma will babysit so the hubs and I can enjoy the in room whirlpool.

*In the interest of honesty and full disclosure let me say I posses a world-class stubborn streak and I’m determined to run Tink. Absolutely, utterly determined.

 

 

This entry was posted in (Shake Your) Tail Feather Tuesday, Actions, half marathon, running, Tuesdays on the Run. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesdays on the Run: The Importance of Running the Run

  1. longhorns2 says:

    Oh- I love Tink! She’s my favorite race. You’ll get those wings!

  2. Bonnie says:

    Third time definitely is the charm! Good luck on your half! I’ve heard Tink is lots of fun. Haven’t done it myself though.

  3. Thank you both for visiting! I’m looking forward to Tink in 2015 or 2016 and am happy for the switch to May. Silly reason, but, I’m hoping the date change will change my mojo.

  4. d20girl says:

    Oh my gosh, what determination! I’m pretty stubborn too so I completely respect that! 🙂 I hope you rock Tink next time. I had a rough race at Tink last year but redeemed myself at Princess a month later. Running is the lynchpin of my journey to fitness as well. Strangely enough I want to lose more weight to run better instead of wanting to run to lose more weight! Thanks for linking up with us on our first Tuesdays on the Run!

Leave a Reply

